Visa Application Information

General Information

Designated Countries & Regions Granted Visa-Free Entry to Republic of Korea (Listed countries without a specified period have a limit of 90 days)
South Korea maintains a visa waiver agreement list and a designated visa-free entry list with countries not included on those lists requiring a visa to enter the country. In addition, foreigners wishing to engage in certain activities such as diplomatic work, gainful employment, study or residence must apply for the appropriate visa prior to engaging in that activity in country.

- Countries with visa-free entry for general passport holders.




Japan, Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan, Brunei (30 Days), Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand


United States, Canada (6 Months), Guyana (30 Days), Guatemala, Grenada, Nicaragua, Dominican Republic, Dominica, Mexico, Barbados, Bahamas, Venezuela, Brazil, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Saint Kitts & Nevis, Suriname, Argentina, Haiti, Antigua & Barbuda, Ecuador, El Salvador, Honduras (30 Days), Uruguay, Jamaica, Chile, Costa Rica, Colombia, Trinidad & Tobago, Panama, Paraguay (30 Days), Peru


Andorra (30 Days), Monaco (30 Days), San Marino (30 Days), Cyprus (30 Days), Albania (30 Days), Croatia, Slovenia, Vatican (30 Days), Bosnia-Herzegovina (30 Days), Serbia, Montenegro (30 Days), Greece, Netherlands, Norway, Denmark, Germany, Latvia, Russia (60 Days / 90 Days total within a 180 day-period), Romania, Luxembourg, Lithuania, Lichtenstein, Malta, Belgium, Bulgaria, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, Slovakia, Iceland, Ireland, Estonia, United Kingdom, Austria, Italy, Czech Republic, Kazakhstan (30 Days), Turkey, Portugal, Poland, France, Finland, Hungary


Australia (30 Days), Guam (30 Days), Fiji (30 Days), Nauru (30 Days), Palau (30 Days), Kiribati (30 Days), Marshall Islands (30 Days), Solomon Islands (30 Days), Micronesia (30 Days), Samoa (30 Days), Tuvalu (30 Days), Tonga (30 Days), New Zealand

Africa & Middle East

Republic of South Africa (30 Days), Mauritius (30 Days), Seychelles (30 Days), Swaziland (30 Days), Botswana, Morocco, Saudi Arabia (30 Days), Arab Emirates, Oman (30 Days), Qatar (30 Days), Kuwait, Bahrain (30 Days), Liberia, Lesotho (60 Days), Israel, Tunisia (30 Days)


- Countries with visa-free entry for diplomatic & official passport holders.

* Official passport refers to those issued to government employees for official business


Passport type Country
Diplomatic & Official

Indonesia (30 Days), Lebanon (30 Days), Gabon, Bolivia, Ukraine, Laos, Cyprus, Armenia, Japan, Mozambique, Argentina, Georgia, Moldova, Azerbaijan (30 Days), China (30 Days), Mongolia, Algeria, Cape Verde, Myanmar, Angola (30 Days), Cambodia (60 Days), Vanuatu, Oman, Croatia, Bangladesh, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan (30 Days), Benin, Ecuador (Diplomatic: Duration of mission / Official: 3 Months), Tajikistan, Vietnam, Iran (3 Months), Paraguay, Belarus, Egypt, Pakistan (3 Months), Belize, India, Philippines (Unlimited)

Diplomatic only

Jordan, Uzbekistan (60 Days), Turkmenistan (30 Days)


What else do you need to know while planning a trip to South Korea?
First, check the current validity of your passport

Second, make sure your passport has blank Visa pages.

Confirm if transit visa is required for any connections.

Check with your airline in case you have connecting flights overseas as part of your journey to South Korea. It may be the case that countries you pass through one route to your destination may require a separate transit visa. Please refer to visa requirements of the specific country

Attention: For those who need to apply visa, we suggest you to apply "tourist visa". For more information about the visa application, please consult with the local embassy.

Please note ICDTE Conferences and the organizing committee of the conference are not authorized to assist with the VISA process beyond providing the Notification of Invitation Letter issued by ICDTE Conferences and conference Committee Board. Should your application be denied, ICDTE Conferences and the organizing committee of the conference cannot change the decision of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, nor will ICDTE Conferences and the organizing committee of the conference engage in discussion or correspondence with the MOFA or the Embassy on behalf of the applicant. The registration fee cannot be refunded when the VISA application of individual being denied.